Wednesday, December 19, 2007

The Laker Game

Ok, I know it's early in the season still, but I've watched plenty of games this year, and there is just something... different about this Laker team. By different, I really mean better. A couple of reasons:

The Bench
For all the heat Mitch "Cupcake" gets (see sidebar), this young Laker team looks like it has a pretty damn bright future. Let's list some of the draft picks from the last five years:
2003 - Brian Cook, Luke Walton
2004- Sasha Vujacic
2005 - Andrew Bynum, Rony Turiaf
2006 - Jordan Farmar
2007 - Javaris Crittenton

Sidebar:
(Everybody said the Shaq trade was horrendous, but why would we mortgage our future for an aging center with weight issues demanding to be overpaid? Look at what Miami is dealing with now, and you'll know what I mean. Now trading Caron for Kwame, that one is inexcusable.)

This bench was drafted by Mitchie! Does anyone remember the heat we took for taking Bynum instead of SEAN MAY? Dear LORD. I find it hard to imagine that we could have traded May or any big man from that draft for Jason Kidd! AND TURN IT DOWN! Funny how everybody says that there is no way we should make that trade now. Doesn't that mean that Kupcake did good by not doing it last year? I would think so.

(The big men drafted above Bynum in the 2005 draft: Andrew Bogut, Marvin Williams, Channing Frye, Ike Diogu. If we did this draft again, Bynum goes right after CP3 and D-Will.)

For all those who like to mention how Phil Jackson is only great for his ability to manage big egos and star players, his teaching ability is way underrated. He has groomed this bench and has always used the regular season to give experience to his bench in big situations.

Oh, and Farmar looks like he's going to be a stud.

Kobe...the leader?
Ok, so maybe his tactics aren't the most tactful. Calling out your teammates outside the locker room multiple times isn't exactly the best strategy. He just says what we all are thinking. Andrew Bynum? This was Jason Kidd we were talking about. His supporting cast? Couldn't hit a jumper last year. Build for the future? Kobe's window as the best player in the league is shrinking.

Hey, this is KOBE BRYANT remember? The one who got thrown under the train by his coach, Phil Jackson. The one who was accused of rape in Colorado. The one who most consider the closest anyone has ever come to Jordan. Yeah, that one. For the record, Kobe is now closer than ever to Phil (if Kobe can forgive, why can't his teammates?), had the charges dropped, and still has the intensity and demand of his teammates that Jordan had.

Maybe they NEEDED to be called out. Nobody likes to be disrespected. Just ask those 14-0 Patriots.

Still, there are some concerns. The Lakers still need another hard nosed defender/rebounder. I don't know if the Kwame, Mihm, and Turiaf triumverate is good enough. It also might be time to put an end to the Odom experiment. I love his talent, but he just doesn't fit well with Kobe (CARON on the other hand...). We could really use a hard nosed defender that can score from the wing (guess who would be a good fit...).

(Imagine, if you will, this lineup in two years: Farmar, Kobe, Caron, Odom, and Bynum. Off the bench: Fisher, Vujacic, Walton, Turiaf, Mihm, Radmanovic, Ariza. That is a championship team.)

Either way, the Lakers are playing well (They are number three(!) on Hollinger's rankings, and we all know that is the REAL indicator of a good team. It did after all say that the Spurs were better than the Mavs last year despite their records). At least this is what I keep telling myself.

Kobe really shouldn't be asking for a trade because he is in the best situation he can possibly be in. Kobe just felt a little disrespected by Laker's management. Maybe it's just what HE needed.

No comments: